Blue-Ribbon Beignet

Beignet1

I had been meaning to sew myself a denim Beignet for years, thinking it would be a great basic skirt that would go with everything. Yet I pushed that project over and over to the bottom of the pile, always finding a new garment that seemed more appealing to sew.

But lo and behold, Me-Made-May made me realise more concretely that my wardrobe was missing a few basics. Not that I don’t wear the less basic garments I sewed (or knitted), I almost always do, but they would be so much easier to mix and match with simpler ones.

Beignet2

This small piece of denim had been in my stash for years too, bought from the remnant bin of one of the local fabric stores. So no excuses not to sew that denim Beignet! Initially I was afraid the 0,80 meters I had wouldn’t be enough and I chose a contrast fabric for the facings, but in fact I had no problem getting all the pattern pieces on that very small piece, so no need for the contrast facing.

The lining is dark blue rayon bemberg, which I bought for the occasion. I try to use up my stash as much I possible, but there isn’t a lot of lining in it, so it is usually the only fabric I have to buy. About this lining, I must say I had the most difficult time sewing it without puckers and the like. Do any of you know how to avoid that? Should I loosen the tension a bit or something? Anyway, the inside hem of this lining was not very even-looking, so I sewed on a pretty blue ribbon I have tons of in my stash, hence the name. Well, that and the fact that I’m pretty pleased with my new skirt! :-)

Beignet3

As far as modifications go, I topstitched all of the outside seams (except for the side seams because of the pockets) with a very strong thread like the one you would find on jeans. I also couldn’t turn inside out tiny belt loops made from this quite thick denim, so I folded and topstitched those, too. Oh, and I had to go from a size 0 waist (first time in my whole life I’ve been a size 0 anything, thanks Colette Patterns!) to size 4 hips.

I wouldn’t say the skirt was difficult to sew, but it wasn’t easy either: there were a lot of steps involved. But everything was explained very clearly in the booklet, so I didn’t encounter any major obstacle. Only the buttonholes made me really loose my temper: the machine I used had a hard time handling the thickness of the thread, so I had to redo some of them a couple of times (and some are still a little wonky). Oh, and I literally stabbed myself in the thumb with the embroidery scissors I used to slice them open, ouch!

Beignet4

After that, putting in the buttons felt very liberating: I used jeans buttons, so I had to hammer them in place and I LOVED doing that (though I broke three of them in the process, but fortunately I had a few spare ones)!

So, sewing this skirt was not a piece of cake, but the result is exactly what I had in mind (if you don’t look at the inside – or the buttonholes – from too close) and I already know I’ll be wearing it a lot in the future! Now off to find a thin brown leather belt!

25 thoughts on “Blue-Ribbon Beignet

  1. C’est vraiment un super basique ! La forme est magnifique, elle te va très bien. Et je ne pensais pas qu’on pouvait la faire rentrer dans aussi peu de tissu ! :o Est-ce que tu peux me dire ce que tu as utilisé comme plan de coupe ? Toutes les pièces sur une meme ligne ?

    • Moi aussi j’ai été surprise, surtout en comparaison avec le métrage recommandé! Peut-être est-ce la ceinture, que je n’ai pas réalisée, qui est gourmande en tissu?
      J’ai aligné toutes les longues pièces les unes à côté des autres (y compris la longue parementure), et c’est rentré tout juste en largeur, puis au-dessus j’ai aligné toutes les petites pièces de parementure, et hop, le tour était joué!

      • J’ai seulement fait la jupe Meringue du livre Colette, mais j’ai eu le même problème: j’ai acheté selon les instructions et j’ai utilisé moins de la moitie! Je suis petite, mais pas tant que ça … Je pense que c’est parce qu’ils conseillent de plier le tissu en deux et couper comme ça, mais je plie toujours où je utilise le moins de tissu que possible.

        Mais, ta jupe est très réussi! Je veux une aussi…

        (Pardon, mon français… j’ai déménagé à France, mais je dois apprendre plus.)

    • Ça va comme ça? Je ne savais même pas que c’était possible! :-D
      C’est un peu effrayant en fait, on pourrait faire dire n’importe quoi à n’importe qui?!

  2. This is an extremely lovely dress. I also have some denim in my stash waiting to be turned into a skirt. But first I need to finish my project that are almost done :)

  3. j’adore les jean’s et les denims,.. alors ta jupe est super TOP! :)
    j’ai fais aussi un patron Beignet en coton mais je dois la rectifier car j’ai fais peu trop grand pour moi…mais sinon j’aime bcp ce patron! :)

  4. eh ben voilà, tu m’as convaincue. J’avais un coupon de jean épais qui attendait son heure. J’achète le patron et go !
    Elle est superbe ta jupe ! bravo

  5. J’aime beaucoup, toute simple et en même temps ce petit quelque chose en plus :)
    Elle est sur ma liste, tu me donnes envie de me jeter dessus (même si je n’ai jamais déchiffrer un patron en anglais!)

  6. Superbement portée !
    Superbe jupe ! Ce modèle présente vraiment des courbes intéressantes je trouve !
    Et j’espère que tu viendras poster ta créa sur le blog des Colette Lovers, dont je suis l’admin !

  7. Pingback: Striped Summer Tank | Rue des Renards

  8. Pingback: Camper Tee | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

