Me-Made-May ’13 – Week Three

Phew, this one was a little bit more difficult than the first two, but I made it through!

Oh, and let me preface this by mentioning that, unless otherwise stated, I wore the same jacket and shawl as on Day 1 every single day.

DAY 13

Day13

After getting heavily rained on twice in two days, no surprises there, I got a cold. I contemplated skipping Day 13, but then I remembered that my warmest scarf, the one I always reach for when I’m sick, was actually me-made! And while looking for it in my wardrobe, I stumbled upon this blouse I made. It was the first garment I ever sewed (the pattern comes from this Japanese book translated into French), so the fit and finishing are not very good but I can’t seem to part with it and I usually wear it every summer despite its flaws.

I didn’t leave the house, so this was the only day of the week when I didn’t wear my me-made jacket and shawl.

DAY 14

Day14

Day 14 was spent staying at home for the biggest part of the day, then going to shoe making class in the evening. I chose to wear this very comfortable dress I made about two years ago if I remember correctly. It’s not based on a pattern, but it’s a rub-off of a dress I loved from H&M whose fabric was becoming too see-through to my taste. I didn’t take the original dress apart, so I had the hardest time figuring out the exact placement of the darts, which ended up a little pointy from a certain angle.  That’s when I got the idea to place a giant bow to hide said pointy darts, a bow that is now my favourite feature of this dress!😀 The fabric is a tablecloth I bought at a yard-sale, and I don’t really get why, but many people have asked me whether it was African wax fabric.

DAY 15

Day15

The dress is me-made; it’s the same as on Day 1. I styled it differently, with a button-back cropped sweater (the same as on Day 2 but in a different color), and I’m not sure I really like it (the outfit, not the sweater). It looks fine on the picture, but I feel like the front of the sweater is a little too short to look right on this dress.

DAY 16

Day16

Looks like I needed comfort this week, so I pulled out this jersey dress again (see Day 8), but this time I wore more colours with it. Oh, and if I look a little bit dishevelled, that’s because I got rained on. Again.

DAY 17

Day17

Yay, I love wearing something I made for the first time! And I feel like this skirt is going to be worn a LOT.🙂 I picked this vintage blouse to wear with it to take finished project pictures the day before, and I liked the way they looked together so I decided to wear almost the same outfit on Day 17 (with a cardigan, and a white long-sleeved T-shirt underneath because it was freaking cold!).

DAY 18

Day18

I’m wearing the same skirt as on Day 7, but with a simpler top and more comfortable shoes, and the me-made hat of the week!

Day18Hat

I love this hat, it’s quite simple yet its asymmetric brim keeps things interesting. It’s a two-piece wool felt with millinery wire at the edge of the brim and a velvet ribbon and bow at the crown base.

DAY 19

Day19

I told you this skirt would be worn a lot! I think it goes with everything. I kept things casual for this Sunday spent at home, then at my mother’s. The weather was warm enough to wear a T-shirt during the day, but in the evening I had to wear the same store-bought blue cardigan as on Day 6 (and Day 14).

7 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13 – Week Three

  1. Ah, your Day 14 dress is just fabulous!! I love it! I can’t believe you made the pattern up! Very nice. I also wanted to let you know that I won a Pattern Pyramid recently and just posted it on my blog. So, if you were interested, you can feel free to drop by and have a look and enter it!

  2. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’13 – Week Five / The End! | Rue des Renards

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’13 – Week Four | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

