Grey and Pink

GreyPinkGrey and powder pink is one of my favourite colour combinations. To me it evokes the 1920s, I don’t really know why. It’s no surprise anyway that, when I had to pick two colours for this hat, I chose these two in about a second. Oh, and I have literally just realized that those are also the colours I chose for the layout of my blog!

GreyPinkBackYou can’t really see that in the pictures, but the hat is made of two superposed layers of sinamay. The outside layer is grey, and the inside one is pink, so with the transparency of the material, the two colours kind of blend together from certain angles.

The bow and other decorations were made with bias strips from the pink sinamay that was used inside the hat, then invisibly sewn to the hat.GreyPinkSideThe form of the brim is kind of strange: it’s asymmetric (the left side is deeper than the right side), but not so much that you notice it right away. It’s obvious when you see the block I used, but not so much when you look at the hat itself.

The hat was made in two pieces (one for the brim and one for the crown) which were then sewn together. I added a pink sinamay bias strip to cover the junction and another one to cover the raw edge of the brim, and a bow because it seems I can’t make a hat without adding a bow of some sort. Inside the hat I sewed a grey petersham ribbon.

Ok, so now I have a grey and pink hat, a grey and pink blog… It’s about time I begin to think about sewing/knitting myself a few grey and pink clothes!

11 thoughts on “Grey and Pink

  1. It’s lovely! You could call it the galah hat (a pink and grey Australian native parrot) and have a whole collection of bird accessories!🙂 I’m so impressed with your shoe!

  2. I like your beautiful blog a lot! Your millinery and shoe-making work is very interesting. The hat looks great on you, and I think the colors go very well with this style:)

  3. Pinaise de pinaise (de pinaise!)!!!😛
    Je suis béate d’admiration!!!
    Mon père me répète TOUT le temps que j’ai une tête à chapeaux et à claques… Et j’imagine que ça va sans dire, mais ce sont les premiers que je préfère!! hi hi hi
    Et je rêverai de savoir comment les confectionner!! J’en ferai des colorés, tout biscornus et assez grands pour abriter une famille de lapins ou de petits oiseaux! (un chapeau des plus discret donc…) mouah ah ah!
    En tous cas j’aime beaucoup les couleurs que tu as choisies (et je t’encourage vivement à te lancer dans un projet tricot et/ou couture dans ces tons là!!🙂 ), la forme du chapeau est très jolie et te va vraiment bien!!
    Je dois dire que ça m’intéresserait beaucoup de savoir où tu suis tes cours de modélisme et comment ça se passe, car ce serait vraiment une activité qui me tenterait! Si jamais tu as un peu de temps libre pendant l’été on pourrait peut-être se retrouver pour en discuter??! (et éventuellement pour faire aussi le tour des boutiques de tissus et de laine de Bruxelles!! :P).
    A bientôt!🙂

    • Héhéhé, merci!
      Je suis mes cours à Bruxelles, mais dans une école néerlandophone. En tout cas bien sûr que ça me dirait de discuter de tout ça/shopper tissu et laine cet été!🙂

      • Et forcément je ne parle pas un mot de néerlandais!! Rhaaaaa!😉
        Ben en tous cas je suis ravie que tu sois ok pour une sortie papotage! hi hi hi Pour l’instant je suis dispo tout le mois de juillet (à l’exception de quelques WE…) et voici mes objectifs:
        – visiter la boutique de laine “Chez Thérèse” (Rue Vanderkindere 401 à Bruxelles) qui vend les laines Drops,
        – retourner chez Passion et Kaleidoscope à Saint Gilles,
        – visiter Gotex à Anderlecht,
        – pousser jusqu’à Maastricht un vendredi matin pour enfin voir à quoi ressemble ce marché qui vend du tissus!
        Alors bon je peux le faire toute seule, mais ça serait vachement plus marrant avec quelqu’un!!😉 Alors si ça te dit de faire un ou plusieurs de ces trucs on pourrait organiser ça quand tu es dispo! J’ai un carrosse (ou une citrouille ça dépend des moments! hi hi hi) à disposition pour nous emmener où on veut.🙂
        Bon voilà! J’arrête de faire mon agent de voyage spécial loisir créatif! lol
        A bientôt j’espère!🙂

  4. Pingback: WIP: Grey and Pink – Take Two | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

