Sketchbook: Viviane Dress

VivianeWhen I first saw the Viviane dress by République du Chiffon, it was love at first sight. I immediately bought it of course, yet it got pushed to the bottom of the pile every time a shiny new pattern got my attention, even though I had the perfect fabric in my stash.

But when I was invited to a 1920s costume party by Hibbis, no more excuses, I had to sew it!

I had a few moments of doubt, especially when I saw how puffy and shiny the yoke looked, but I powered through, thinking worse comes to worst, it would make a decent one-night costume (a one-night costume for which I had sacrificed one of my favourite lengths of fabric and hours of precious sewing time on details such as French seams and the like!). And the result is actually perfectly wearable, yay!

I’ve already worn it a few times since the party and it’s pretty comfortable and easy to style down for daily life.

Stay tuned for pictures of the finished dress!

5 thoughts on “Sketchbook: Viviane Dress

  1. Pingback: Marcianita Dress | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

