MMM ’14 – Week One

Four days into May, this hasn’t been too difficult yet. Especially since I haven’t had to go to work: I don’t work at weekends, nor on Fridays this year, and May 1st was a holiday, so four days at home left me plenty of time to plan my outfits and take the daily pictures.

In addition to what you see in the pictures, I also wore my me-made jacket and shawl every day, every time I went out.

DAY 1 (Thursday)

Day1Hello, favourite skirt and sweater! This is a combination I’ve been wearing a lot these days, except I usually wear a store-bought black long or 3/4 sleeved tee under the sweater. This time I substituted a me-made blouse (pattern from this book) for the tee and I was really pleased with the result. This blouse is the first piece of clothing I ever sewed, so I don’t wear it often, but I can’t part with it and I still wear it every summer.

DAY 2 (Friday)

Day2I’m wearing a refashioned dress and a sweater I recently knit. I’m wondering whether I shouldn’t shorten the sweater a touch, even more than what I already did, because its body still has a tendency to bunch up a bit under the arms.

This is the kind of outfit I would never wear to work because of the short skirt, though I have no problem wearing very short dresses/skirts outside of work as long as I’m wearing tights. Oh, and if you’re wondering why my hair looks better behaved than usual, I went to the hairdresser’s that day.

DAY 3 (Saturday)

Day3“Who’s that straight-haired girl?!” is the question I asked myself every time I saw my reflection that day!🙂

Anyway, I’m wearing the first sweater I ever knit and a Renfrew dress you may remember from not too long ago. The sweater has become a little too big for me and I don’t like the fact that it’s polyester (made from recycled bottles, that I like!), but I still love it so much, I’m pretty sure I’ll knit another one in a better yarn someday.

Had it not been for Me-Made-May, I’m not sure I’d have thought to wear this dress and this sweater together, but since I don’t have a lot of me-made cardigans or sweaters that go with the dress, I had to be more creative than usual!

DAY 4 (Sunday)

Day4.1The weather was much warmer than the past few days, so I only wore a me-made dress for most of the day. I still love the style of that dress and it’s also very comfortable, but the fabric has seen better days so sadly I think it will have to retire soon. Ah well, at least it will leave more room for future makes!

Day4.2The evening was a bit chillier, so I put on a me-made cardigan I often wear with that same dress. When I made a quick inventory of my me-made wardrobe before I wrote my pledge, I realised I actually only own three me-made cardigans. This is one of them and it has also been showing signs of age, so I’m planning on knitting me some new cardigans in the near future. Seeing as my daily uniform is a dress with a cardigan, I don’t know how I didn’t realise that sooner!

Conclusions of the week:

– I need some cardigans!

– A whole year is too long a period between two haircuts.

13 thoughts on “MMM ’14 – Week One

  1. Hi! I stumbled on your blog in the “suggested blogs” bar of my WordPress reader. I really love your style and your striped dress. I’m participating in MMM14 this year also, though have not been quite as prolific thus far. (maybe I need a personal photographer?). I’m subscribing to your blog and looking forward to more Me-Mades.

    • Thanks for following, and thank you so much for your comment!🙂 Ah, to have a personal photographer! I personally use a tripod and the timer of my camera.:-/

  2. Pingback: MMM ’14 – Week Two | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

