Mama Mustard Cardigan

Moutarde2When I took a look at my me-made wardrobe before the start of Me-Made-May, I quickly realised that I was pretty lacking in the cardigan department. Cardigans are one of my staples, yet I only knit three of them, isn’t that crazy? So of course I decided my next knitting project would have to be a cardigan.

Moutarde1I still owned a store-bought mustard cardigan that went with virtually everything in my wardrobe, but it had started pilling and showing other signs of age, so I had been thinking about replacing it with a me-made version for a long time. I had some mustard merino yarn in my stash, so I browsed Ravelry by entering its gauge in the search parameters and I came upon Kelly Brooker’s Mama Vertebrae pattern. Aside from the fact that that name freaked me out a little bit (still does: to me it evokes scary creatures with a prominent spine – creepy!), I really liked the simplicity of the pattern, so I immediately bought it and got to work.

Moutarde4I was in-between two sizes and I chose the smallest one because I wanted a close fitting cardigan. I followed the suggestion of stopping the raglan increases early in order to get a smaller armhole and I didn’t cast on more stitches to compensate for the omitted raglan increases when I started working on the sleeves so that I’d get a closer fit on the sleeves. Also for that closer fit on the sleeves, I decreased two stitches every eighth row as suggested in the pattern. I really liked the fact that the pattern is easy to customise to get the fit you want, and also that it is written for four yarn weights!

Moutarde5I initially debated knitting long or 3/4 sleeves, and I opted for the 3/4 sleeves mostly out of laziness, but when I reached the 3/4 length indicated by the pattern, I felt like the sleeves hit my arms at a weird place, so I went on knitting until I felt like they were long enough to be a true 3/4 length. And of course after blocking I realised I had actually knit long sleeves… Happy accident!

Moutarde6Before blocking I was really worried about the number of stitches I had picked up along the neckline: even though I had used Jeny’s surprisingly stretchy bind off, the ribbing pulled the whole front of the cardigan in and I felt like no blocking would be strong enough to make it the right size. Turns out I was totally wrong: once the yarn was wet, it was really easy to get it to conform to whatever shape I wanted it to take.

Moutarde3So this is not the most original knitting project, but it fills a hole in my wardrobe and I can only hope I’ll wear it even half as often as that old store-bought mustard cardigan! Next on the list: a navy cardigan! Can you believe it’s been at least ten years since I owned one?

13 thoughts on “Mama Mustard Cardigan

    • Unless you absolutely need to be able to close your cardigans (this one has no front so you can’t close it – I personally never close my longer cardigans so it doesn’t bother me at all), I’d really recommend this pattern! It’s very easy and well explained, and a pretty fast knit!

  1. Un tricot très vite….ça, ça me fait rêver ! Pour moi, un tricot, c’est toujours très long….J’aime cette couleur..il est simplement très joli ton tricot très vite !

    • The two patterns look very similar indeed! I had considered the Knitbot Featherweight during my Ravelry searches but I hadn’t realised how much they looked like each other, weird! I love the colour you picked for your Featherweight.

  2. I’m just the same. I wear a lightweight wool cardigan almost every day, but I’m only just finishing knitting on myself (though I’ve knit two heavier weight ones). Clearly this is an area of my wardrobe I’ve been neglecting! I just need to find some fun but not crazy patterns, because a lot of stockinette in fingering weight is a recipe for boredom (for me anyway).

    I love the colour of your cardigan! I love how mustard can act almost as a neutral. Navy, too, is a great wear-with-everything colour.

  3. Oooh, your orange cardigan looks so promising!
    I personally love knitting stockinette (fingering weight, not so much!) because you can watch TV or hold a conversation at the same time without running the risk of making mistakes. My problem is I need to stop knitting more sweaters than cardigans when I actually wear more cardigans than sweaters! And it’s not like there are no cute cardigan patterns available!

  4. Aaaaaah cette couleeeeuuuur!!! Suis hypnotisée! hi hi hi
    Je dois bien avouer que mes interrogations concernant l’absence de devants se sont envolées en voyant tes photos! En fait ce n’est pas du tout choquant une fois porté! (non! les photos du modèle ne suffisaient pas à me convaincre, il fallait que je voie ça “en vrai” = sur quelqu’un que je connais😉 ).
    En tous cas le résultat est super chouette, il te va très bien (m’enfin pour l’instant je ne t’ai jamais vu faire/porter quelque chose qui ne te va pas!) et je suis certaine que cette moutarde va relever de nombreuses futures tenues!!🙂
    A+! Des bisous!

    • Que-quoi-comment?! Tu émettais des doutes face à un de mes choix?! Comment oses-tu, petite impudente?! Plus sérieusement, moi aussi j’avais quelques doutes (et si les gens en rue se retournaient sur mon passage pour montrer du doigt la fille qui a oublié de tricoter l’avant de son cardigan?), mais en fait on ne remarque rien du tout, ça donne un effet cardigan ouvert, point.

Leave a Reply

