A Week Of Hats: Mam’zelle Clio

MamzelleClio1Last year in millinery class, we learnt to make a fabric hat on a buckram base. I chose a base similar to the one I would later choose for my Hollyburn hat and I used red lace and lining remnants from this dress. It was an exercise, so the result was far from perfect, and the hat got pushed to the back of a cupboard were it got crushed under other objects.

MamzelleClio2I decided to salvage the fabric (and batting!) of the hat to make another one with some new buckram I would buy, and while taking it apart I thought I should try and see whether or not it would be possible to reuse the buckram, too. I was far from convinced it would work, but once wet, the buckram could take any shape I wanted it to take as if new!

MamzelleClio3So I was able to block the top part of the old hat into a new base, and the side/bottom part into some sort of bow (that everyone but me seems to see as a propeller!😀 ). There is some millinery wire reinforcing the edge of the hat itself and the edge of the bow.

MamzelleClio4The hat once again stays on the head thanks to a piece of millinery elastic, and its inside is finished with some matching red lining and a piece of petersham ribbon (both also salvaged from the original hat).

MamzelleClio5This is not the kind of hat that is very easy to wear on a daily basis, but I think it can be fun to wear on special occasions nonetheless. Its name comes from this song, because both the song and the hat have a silly side to them.

MamzelleClio6

2 thoughts on “A Week Of Hats: Mam’zelle Clio

  1. je suis totalement admirative de l’or que tu as dans les mains et de ce que tu en fais: tu maitrises parfaitement l’anglais, le tricot, la couture, le dessin, l’informatique et tu t’aventures loin des sentiers battus vers quelque chose d’unique… les photos sont superbes… merci de partager tes créations…

    • Ohlàlà, merci pour tous ces mots gentils, ça me touche beaucoup, vraiment (même si ma maîtrise de tous ces domaines n’est pas aussi grande que tu le penses, surtout l’informatique où je suis carrément nulle!😉 ).

Leave a Reply

