A Week Of Hats: La Mer

LaMer1Tired of looking at my face yet? I know I am! Let’s concentrate on the hat then. At first I had planned to make a very simple sailor hat, as if borrowed from a sailor by his girlfriend, but then I thought this would be pure reproduction, not creation, so I started thinking about other options.

LaMer2And then it hit me: a lady sailor hat! So I made it smaller, in a more triangle shape (note that at first I wanted the tip of the triangle at the front, but when trying on the hat mid creation I found it looked better the other way around) and I added a fabric covered button at the intersection of the panels and most importantly a perky bow at the back.

LaMer3By some stroke of luck, drafting the crown panels went effortlessly, but the brim, not so much… I spent more than two hours drafting and redrafting and redrafting it again and again, losing my mind in fancy calculations involving the radius of a circle and whatnot, only to realise the pattern piece I needed was… a long rectangle!:-/

LaMer4Once I had that figured out, everything went smoothly. Most of the hat was sewn by machine, the only things I did by hand were attaching the buttons (the fabric covered one outside and a flat one inside), the bow, the lining and the petersham ribbon, and adding little thread loops to fasten the elastic inside the hat.

LaMer5I have already worn this hat once this week (with this dress) and it felt secure on my head, even when I was biking in the wind! Millinery elastic is my favourite way of attaching a hat, which is why I used some on each of the hats of the collection. It’s very secure, yet invisible (especially on dark hair with volume of course, but I’ve also seen it work really well on very short lighter hair).

LaMer6The song that gave its name to this hat is this one, and I guess the reason why I picked it is pretty self-explanatory!

See you tomorrow for the last hat of the collection!

9 thoughts on “A Week Of Hats: La Mer

  1. Hi hi hi!! Mon prèf de prèf (avec celui en paille couronné de fleurs!!).
    J’aurais beaucoup aimé te voir dans ta tenue complète de petit mousse!😀
    Bon eh bien, je prendrai le même. S’il te plait. Merci.😛
    A bientôt!!😉

    • Bon ben il faudrait que je refasse le patron… Dans le stress de la collection, je me demande si je ne l’ai pas jeté avec tous mes essais de visière infructueux.:-/

  2. Woa, I’m so very impressed by all your fabulous hats, but this one is just too cute! I’m amazed to hear it’s made from a karate kimono, you are very talented!

  3. Pingback: A Week Of Hats: Que reste-t-il de nos amours? | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

