Culottes and a Eucalypt

jupeculotte1When leafing through Burda, I often need to look past the styling and always need to examine the technical drawings to fall in love with a pattern. Not this time. When I spotted the May 2016 Culottes (#110a), it was love at first sight. And at second sight when I looked at the technical drawing and saw their lovely scalloped front yoke. I needed those culottes.

You can imagine how happy I was when I found a very similar fabric to the one they used in the magazine at the Stoffenspektakel. So happy that I started working on the culottes right away instead of hoarding the fabric for a couple of years as is usually more my style!

I cut a size 40, graded down to a 38 at the waist/top of the yoke (it’s a low waist, so no need to go smaller than that). It was a pretty fast and uneventful make, the only difficulty being the angles of the scallops, where the scallops meet each other. Angles that I didn’t manage to sew correctly; mine are much more wavy than pointy as they appear to be on the technical drawing. But no one who didn’t see said technical drawing is going to notice that, are they?

jupeculotte5Aside from that, these culottes were a breeze to make. They are also quite nice to wear, especially in this fabric (I think it’s a polycotton), which, contrary to other blends I’ve used in the past, seems to have taken the best of both worlds: it presses really well, but it almost doesn’t wrinkle!

However, I don’t wear them very often. Why is that? Because, and I feel so stupid for not having realised and remedied that beforehand, there are no pockets… So, even though I find the culottes so cute and all, I don’t find them very practical, and I keep reaching for the pockets.

jupeculotte2The top I’m wearing with them in the pictures (I unconsciously composed an outfit that is very similar to the one in Burda, didn’t I?) is also a partial fail. I used Megan Nielsen’s Eucalypt tank and, looking at my previous versions of the pattern, I shortened the straps, thinking this would lead to a better fit. I also made a few changes just for this version, for aesthetical reasons: I made the straps thinner, deepened the neckline (front and back), shortened and widened the body and added a lace trim (from my stash; I had just the right length) at the bottom.

jupeculotte4I’m happy with my aesthetical changes, but the fitting change was kind of counterproductive: I feel like the fit of the top part is worse than before! And it leads to the shoulder seams falling too far towards the back and the whole top appearing asymmetrical: if I don’t put the shoulder seams back in place, the top seems shorter in the front and longer in the back.

Another thing I’m not happy at all with is the way my bias finished neckline and armholes look. At first they looked pretty good, but after a wash they wrinkled a lot, and no amount of pressing seems to be able to solve that. And yet I had prewashed both the fabric, a quality cotton lawn, and my bias tape, made from the same material.

jupeculotte3I’ve worn the top a lot this summer, both tucked and untucked, so I wouldn’t call it a total failure, but it’s always frustrating when a project doesn’t meet your standards, especially when you don’t understand exactly what went wrong! Ah well, I keep telling myself we are all bound to fail some projects from time to time, and that makes it only better when the next one is a success!

5 thoughts on “Culottes and a Eucalypt

  1. I really like this outfit, the more I see culottes the more I wish I made them in the summer but I’m like you, if it doesn’t have pockets it doesn’t get worn, I love the wavy yoke though. Shame your top has the binding issues as it’s lovely, the lacy bottom is fab

    • Thank you so much!🙂
      If you’d like to make culottes but don’t want to wait until next summer, why not make some winter ones with pockets? I’ve been kind of obsessed with culottes lately, and I know that’s my plan! Now to pick a pattern between at least three tempting ones!😀

  2. This outfit looks like it would be really comfortable on a hot and humid summer day (we had—and are still having—a lot of those here). I never would have guessed the curving scallops weren’t intentional; they look lovely. It’s a shame about the lack of pockets and your woes with the top. I had similar issues fitting an athletic tank recently: between version 1 and 2 I made the appearance more pleasing but the fit worse. I know I’ll be taking a break from that pattern for a while. Will you be giving the Eucalypt pattern another try, or setting it aside for a while?

    • Thank you!
      We are having a lot of hot and humid summer days here, too! I can’t wait for fall to start!
      It’s so frustrating when you can’t get the fit right, isn’t it? I might give the Eucalypt pattern another try, but with fall hopefully around the corner, it’s not in my immediate plans.

  3. Pingback: Pastel | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

