Hollyburn Hat

HollyburnHat1Remember this skirt? It was the first project I ever posted on my blog! I had been meaning to make a matching pillbox hat with the fabric remnants ever since I completed the skirt; I even had all of the materials ready, but it took me all of nine months to finally get to it!

HollyburnHat2I used a two-piece premade buckram form which I covered first with a layer of wadding, then with the fabric. Everything but the back seam of the fabric is hand sewn, which allowed me to work on that project mostly from my coach (why do you think I love hand sewing so much?)!

HollyburnHat3Why Hollyburn hat, you ask? Well, first because it’s made from the same fabric as my beloved Hollyburn skirt, a tweed/chevron wool with golden thread woven in, and second because I used the pattern of the waistband tabs of the skirt to add a double tab at the back of the hat! I also used the same wooden buttons as on the skirt: I had bought four especially to make a matching hat!

HollyburnHat4

Here you can see the fabric and double button tab better, as well as the matching skirt…

HollyburnHat5

… And here you can sort of see some of the golden thread that’s woven in the fabric. Much more visible in real life.

HollyburnHat6I lined the hat with the same lining as the skirt, beige Venezia, and I added a beige petersham ribbon. The only thing that doesn’t really match is the ribbon I used to secure the comb (the comb helps the hat stay on the head), but blue was all I had in stock the evening I finished the hat and I didn’t want to wait until the next morning to go and buy some. I don’t know how many of my projects feature that same ribbon: I have a lot of it in my stash, so every time I need some ribbon (to stabilize shoulder seams for example), that’s the one I use.

I’m really happy with the outcome of this hat, which is pretty exactly what I had in mind, and quite proud of the finishing details. The only problem is it’s not the easiest type of hat to wear nowadays (ah, to live in the sixties!), but I can still see myself wearing it from time to time when going out. Though my boyfriend might disagree on that one. His comment when I proudly showed him the finished hat: “Oh cute, perfect for when you go fox hunting!”.

27 thoughts on “Hollyburn Hat

  1. This is beautiful! I know nothing about hat making and you mention a pre-made form. Are these supplies readily available? As for your boyfriend’s comment, maybe he needs to take you on a trip to the English countryside so you that you may look a fox hunting party, or just a nice travel experience 🙂

    • Yes, pre-made forms are readily available from the website I linked to, though it’s a Belgian shop and I have no idea whether they deliver abroad.
      Thank you for your comment! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stash Diet - February Round Up | Stitch ParadeStitch Parade

  3. Pingback: A Week Of Hats: Mam’zelle Clio | Rue des Renards

  4. Pingback: And a Cosy New Year! | Rue des Renards

Leave a comment