Pirouette, Cacahuète!

Peanut1

I finished this skirt two weeks ago and I’ve already been wearing it quite a lot since then. It’s the Hollyburn Skirt by Sewaholic, in a beige and brown tweed that has a golden thread woven in, though you can’t really see that on the pictures. I lined it with beige Venezia, following those instructions, and the buttons I chose are wood.

Peanut2

The fabric is quite thick, which was kind of a pain to work with when the time came to sew the button tabs, but all in all everything went smoothly, even tough because of the thickness you can sometimes see the bulk of the pockets through the skirt.

Peanut3

The pattern was very straightforward, so I really took my time and focussed on achieving a very clean finish: French seams (my first ones!) on the lining, handsewn hem, hand-picked zipper…

Peanut4

I wanted a classical skirt that wouldn’t be boring either (hence the golden speckles!), and I’m really happy with the result.

Also, a thing that is always very important to me in a garment is to be able to ride my bike comfortably when wearing it (I bike to work, and everywhere as a matter of fact!), and this skirt passes the test, yay!

Peanut5

PS Pirouette, Cacahuète is the title and chorus of a well-known French nursery rhyme with an allusion to golden thread. Plus “cacahuète” means “peanut” in French and my skirt is kind of the color of peanuts (well, the background is, I assure you!).

54 thoughts on “Pirouette, Cacahuète!

  1. bravo pour ce nouveau blog tout beau ! ça faisait un moment que je me demandais si tu te lancerais, attendant avec impatience ce jour !
    (et sinon, même si pour ma part je comprend l’anglais, tu ne vas pas le faire bilingue histoire de satisfaire tes fans françaises ?!!)

    • Hiii, mon premier commentaire, merci!
      Hahaha, mes fans françaises! 😀
      Plus sérieusement, j’ai pensé le faire bilingue, mais et d’une perso je n’aime pas trop lire des posts en deux langues (ou alors chaque version sur une page séparée, mais mes compétences en informatique sont loin d’être à la hauteur!), et de deux (surtout), ça ferait quand même beaucoup de boulot de tout écrire en deux langues, donc j’ai préféré en choisir une, l’anglais parce que c’est le plus international et que ça me fait un bon exercice par la même occasion.

  2. ouahh! genial!! je me demandais si un jour tu allais faire un blog car tes creations et ton style sont vraiment, MAIS VRAIMENT JOLIS et ORIGINALS! j’adore! (pr l’anglais je vais m’ameliorer 🙂 )

  3. Chouette, c’est hier justement où je cherchais un lien vers ton blog en voyant ton gilet gazon sur T&N. Très contente que ce lien existe finalement 😉 ! En plus ça commence fort : j’aime beaucoup ta jupe. Le patron ne m’avait pas tant tapé dans l’oeil, mais ta version me le fait voir sous un nouveau jour !!

    • C’est un modèle facile à adapter à ses goûts. Au premier regard il ne m’avait pas plus tapé dans l’œil que ça non plus, mais quand j’ai vu les pattes à boutons je ne sais pas pourquoi mais j’ai craqué!
      En tout cas un grand merci pour ton commentaire!

  4. I just stumbled across your blog via the burdastyle site, where I have seen your fab skirt. It is really the perfect skirt and I like everything about it! I’m curious about your future sewing projects!

  5. A new blog !! What’s a good news. Your last projects knitted are fabulous, I like your style. This skirt is beautiful and fit on you very well.

    Heuuu la misère humaine de parler en shakeaspere!!!! désolée, j’essayerai de m’améliorer et lire ton blog m’aidera certanement!!
    Longue vie à cette nouvelle fênetre!!

  6. Je me demandais si tu allais ouvrir un blog un jour – Tes créations vues chez T&N me plaisent toujours autant, je regrettais presque de ne pas en découvrir un peu plus sur toi 😀
    Mais, tu as du sentir toutes ces ondes, ce qui fait que tu ouvres ce blog maintenant !!!
    Cette jupe est superbe ; même classique comme tu la présentes, elle est absolument charmante, je la verrai bien dans mon armoire, moi !

  7. Pingback: Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014! | Rue des Renards

  8. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’13 – Week Two | Rue des Renards

  9. Pingback: Camper Tee | Rue des Renards

  10. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’13 – Week Four | Rue des Renards

  11. Pingback: Hollyburn Hat | Rue des Renards

  12. Pingback: MMM ’14 – Week Three | Rue des Renards

  13. Pingback: Working with Tweed – An Adventure | Costumes and Fashion

  14. Pingback: Déjà Vu | Rue des Renards

  15. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’13 – Week One! | Rue des Renards

  16. Pingback: Finished Object: Hollyburn Skirt – Yarning Over the Days

  17. Pingback: Skirt Styles From A-Z!

Leave a comment