Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014!

1943:1944I love reading stuff like that, so here’s my review of 2013 sewing and knitting wise!

I sewed 15 items and I knit 11, which sums up to a grand total of 26 projects in a year. That’s one project every two weeks, which I know is not the most impressive compared to what some others have achieved, but to me it’s a HUGE progress compared to my ten projects of 2012 and who knows how (not) many of 2011 and before! I’m quite sure starting a blog played a big part in my productivity, as did meeting friends who sew and knit of course!

2013

The 26 projects in chronological order

Out of the 26, only one was not for me. What can I say? I like sewing/knitting for ME and I’m not even sorry. Ok, I’m just sorry that one of my best friends is still waiting for the skirt I promised to sew for her birthday, which was in May, oops!

Miette+Hollyburn+Chuck+Sureau+Chardon+BagI’m pretty proud of how much I’ve been wearing my 2013 garments. The most worn are definitely my Miette cardigan, my Chuck sweater, my Hollyburn and Chardon skirts and my Sureau dress. I wear those so much they barely know the inside of my closet: I wear them then wash them then wear them ALL THE TIME! Oh, and I almost forgot about my refashioned bag, which I’ve been carrying with me everywhere, too.BlueStone+RefashionFive of my 2013 projects have been worn either never or rarely and/or reluctantly. I haven’t been able to wear my last refashioned dress yet, nor my blue short-sleeved sweater, even though I LOVE them and I can’t wait to wear them… because I don’t have anything to wear with them. The sweater needs a black skirt or black trousers or shorts (my attempt at sewing said black skirt was scuppered, to say the least), and the dress, because of the thickness of its three collars (which creates an unsightly lump under any of my cardigans), needs a cardigan with a back low enough to stay under the collars instead of on top of them.

July21.7Also, I loved wearing my playsuit in Brussels, so I packed it to Spain. But when I took it out of my luggage to wear it, I realised the seams of the shoulder straps hadn’t survived their last wash, so I wouldn’t be able to wear the playsuit again until I fix the straps. I cried. Still haven’t fixed it.

Menthe+DulcineaThen there are two projects I simply don’t like all that much: my mint cardigan, still too big for my liking, and my Kelly skirt, that kind of duplicates this older skirt I wear a lot. I hadn’t realised that until I put it in the closet and saw the two skirts right against each other, but knowing the second skirt has a few issues, it means I usually (more like, always!) prefer wearing the first one. So I’m pretty sure I’ll be donating both the skirt and the cardigan in the foreseeable future. I’m especially sad about the cardigan because I still love its colour so much. Ah well, I’ll knit another one someday!

Anyway, I’m definitely happy with the outcome of my sewing and knitting this year. I was convinced I had completed about half what I actually completed, and with twenty items I wear regularly and only two I would call failures I’d say firstly, it seems like I’m not as slow as I thought I was, and secondly, I really know what I like, what I wear and what suits/doesn’t suit me.

Now, there are still things I would like to improve on in 2014. First and foremost, I would like to stop amassing so much fabric and to sew more from my (gigantic!) stash. Teaming up with Ms Mimolette, I’ve decided I’m only allowed to buy some fabric every five pieces I use from my stash.

Then, even though I’m happy enough with the outcome of my sewing/knitting in 2013, I would like to sew/knit more projects in 2014. I don’t want to decide on a number I would have to attain, that would be too stressful, but I would like to be more productive. I think using up my stash might provide a great motivation towards that goal, too.

And lastly, as I wrote in this post, I’ve started a sketchbook where I draw each sewing project I begin. So I would really really like to keep up with it so that I’m more confident with my drawing skills at the end of 2014.

Oh, and maybe I should add “sew my friend’s skirt already!” to my resolutions! Preferably before her next birthday!

Thanks for reading and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

31 thoughts on “Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014!

    • Unfortunately, I can’t: it was originally so big that I had to machine stitch the sides and sleeves and cut off the excess, so there’s no way I can unravel it now. 😦
      But I agree, the colour is lovely, so I’ll probably end up buying the same yarn again, or a yarn of the same colour!

  1. I have just started reading your blog when I started my blog recently. I really like your style and have made a few of the same items. I have just finished my Sureau dress which I need to blog about, which I think I will become a big fan of. Really like your knits, I am still yet to finish my scarf.

    Happy new year and I will look forward to reading your blog in 2014.

  2. You’ve had a great year Tassadit! I love all your projects, even the ones you didn’t wear so much. A project every two weeks is a pretty impressive number, in my opinion, especially because we still need to make time to eat, sleep, work, and live! I totally hear you about trying to use up the stash in 2014. For this reason, my friend Gail and I have started an initiative called the Fabric Diet: 2014. We’ve created a flickr group and have invited other crafters to join us. Come check it out on my blog: http://stitchparade.com/stash-diet-2014/ where you can find a link to flickr. All the best for 2014!

  3. Lovely summary – I’ve really enjoyed following you this year. Is that the kombi tee I spy at the end? So cute (I’ve just posted an update on our kombis interior face lift). I was going to ask if you could take in your mint cardi on the machine but the read you’d already done it! Can’t do it anymore? It’s so pretty! Happy new year 🙂

    • Yes, that’s the kombi tee! I took a peek at your kombi’s interior face lift, it’s beautiful! I can’t wait to see the curtains and other finishing touches!
      As for the mint cardi, it was really impossible to make even smaller, so off it went today to a charity, no regrets!

  4. Wow…. quality AND quantity – fabulous work! If it’s any consolation, my Kelly doesn’t see a lot of wear either, it was one of my first projects and the fit isn’t all that good. I always get compliments on it though as it’s such a great pattern. Wishing you a very happy 2014!

    • Thank you! 🙂
      I might try the Kelly pattern again someday, but I’d have to widen the high hip I think… It’s such a cute pattern I think it would be worth the trouble!

  5. Pingback: Camper Tee | Rue des Renards

  6. Pingback: Stash Diet: 2014 | Rue des Renards

  7. Pingback: Sketchbook: The End! | Rue des Renards

  8. Pingback: And a Cosy New Year! | Rue des Renards

  9. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Rue des Renards

Leave a comment